Sebastian County Recognizes 4-H Teen Star


By U of A System Division of Agriculture

Lindsey Garretson has been named an Arkansas 4-H Teen Star for her outstanding achievement in 4-H projects and activities, leadership and community service.

She is a member of Carnall 4-H Club, Project Fusion 4-H Club and Teen Leaders, where she has been active for 10 years.

Garretson is one of 67 4-H youth selected for the honor this year. This year’s recipients represent 32 counties across the state who were selected from thousands of 4-H members statewide.

“The Teen Stars program recognizes youth who are making a difference in 4-H and in our community, said Araceli Oswald, 4-H Program Assistant at University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture “4-Her names are all go-getters and have been consistently working on developing knowledge and skills in their project areas and have proven themselves to be service-minded and capable leaders. We look forward to seeing how far they will go.”

Arkansas Teen Stars are selected based on their leadership ability, integrity, high moral standards and high goals, outstanding achievement in both project and service activities, their ability to work with others, a positive attitude, interest in the 4-H program and a general interest in organizations and activities for youth development. To be considered, a member must have completed a minimum of two years of 4-H work and be an active member.

Honorees are usually recognized during the Teen Star/Hall of Fame banquet at the statewide Teen Leader Conference, usually held at the Arkansas 4-H Center. “Because of COVID-19, things will be a little different this year,” said Ashley Dingman, a 4-H program associate. “We’ve moved the Teen Leadership Conference online, and we’ll be recognizing each of our outstanding youth with a video specifically for our 2020 Teen Stars.”

The Teen Star recognition paves the way for youth to later apply to be 4-H Ambassadors who then become eligible to run for state officer positions. Any Teen Star who is graduating high school can also apply for the $1,000 Zack O. and Jennie D. Jennings scholarship.4-H is the youth development program of the Cooperative Extension Service, part of the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture. Participation is free to youth in every county.

To learn about 4-H and other extension programs in Arkansas, contact your local Cooperative Extension Service agent or visit Follow us on Twitter at @UAEX_edu.About the Division of Agriculture The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system.The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses.

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs and services without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.

Share this post

Tammy Teague

Tammy Teague

Education: 1995 MHS graduate; 1999 Arkansas Tech University Graduate - BA in Journalism. Career: Managing Editor - The Citizen; Copy Writer - Southwest Times Record; Editor - Resident Press. 20+ years experience in the news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top